A Look at The 2018 Pokemon NAIC


So this weekend, I had watched the live stream of the 2018 Pokemon North American International Championship, which took place in Columbus, Ohio. According to the commentators, there were around 2,000 competitors across the video game, trading card game, and Pokken Tournament games throughout the event. This also includes players in three age divisions in each tournament. Players came from around the world to participate.

Today I will be focused on the Video Game Championship (or VGC) event for the Master’s division (the oldest age bracket). I will be taking note of who was playing on stream, what Pokemon they were using, and who won each match. It is important to note that each match is a best 2 out of 3 games, so who won how many games in a match will be included as well.

There were around 350 Master’s division players at the event, and the tournament format was Swiss, where everyone plays a set number of rounds, then the win-loss record determines who moves on in the competition. In this case, those who lost 2 matches or fewer, on Friday, or the top 32 players (whichever was higher) will move onto day 2 for more Swiss rounds. Day 1 included 9 rounds of Swiss, and day 2 featured 5 rounds of Swiss before the top 8 were determined. The top 8 had to play in single elimination to reach the finals. The finals were shown on day 3 for each tournament.

Round 1 on the Main stream (which changes between the video game, and trading card game on days 1 and 2) featured Jame’s Baek vs. Jimmy Kwa. Unfortunately, I couldn’t get the full details of how each Pokemon was customized for this event, but here are their teams:

James Baek: Gengar,Kommo-o, Incineroar, Tapu Bulu, Azumarill, and Clefairy.

Jimmy Kwa: Politoed, Bisharp, Tapu Koko, Landorus (Therian forme), Ludicolo, and Scizor.

James Baek won 2-0.

Round 2 on the main stream featured Ashton Cox vs. Melvin Keh. Here are their teams:

Ashton Cox: Drifblim, Tapu Lele, Metagross, Amoongus, Landorus (Therian forme), and Rotom (Heat forme).

Melvin Keh: Tapu Koko, Milotic, Landorus (Therian forme), Charizard (as Mega Charizard Y), Snorlax, and Tapu Lele.

Melvin Keh won 2-1.

Round 3  on the main stream featured Wolfe Glick (the 2016 world champion) vs. Carson Confer. Here are their teams:

Wolfe Glick: Volcarona, Tapu Koko, Landorus (Incarnate forme), Hitmontop, Tyranitar, and Amoongus.

Carson Confer: Porygon2, Landorus (Therian forme), Charizard (as Mega Charizrd Y), Tyranitar, Kartana, and Tapu Koko.

Wolfe Glick won 2-0.

Round 4 on the main stream featured Justin Crubaugh and Zheyuan Huang, their teams were:

Justin Crubaugh: Tyranitar, Gengar, Kartana, Incineroar, Tapu Fini, and Landorus (Therian forme).

Zheyuan Huang: Chariard (as Mega Charizard Y), Incineroar, Tapu Koko, Cresselia, Kartana, and Landorus (Therian forme).

Justin Crubaugh won 2-1.

Round 5 on the main stream featured Tommy Cooleen vs. Alessio Yuri Boschetto, with these teams:

Tommy Cooleen: Latias, Landorus (Therian forme), Kartana, Tapu Fini,, Incineroar, and Stakataka.

Alessio Yuri Boschetto: Metagross, Incineroar, Zapdos, Tapu Fini, Landorus (Therian forme), Amoongus.

Round 6 on the main stream featured the players Alberto Lara vs. Jake Powell with the teams of:

Alberto Lara: Gengar, Kartana, Tapu Fini, Cresselia, Landorus (Therian forme), and Incineroar.

Jake Powell: Gastrodon, Cresselia, Tapu Koko, Salamence, Incineroar, and Kartana.

Jake Powell won 2-1

Round 7-9 was only on the VGC stream. Round 7 featured Shreyas Conchi Radhakrishna vs. Paul Chua, with these teams:

Shreyas Conchi Radhakrishna: Tapu Fini, Kangaskhan, Nihilego, Volcarona, Bisharp, and Landorus (Therian forme).

Paul Chua: Kangaskhan, Landorus (Therian forme), Cresselia, Tapu Fini, Kartana, and Heatran.

Paul Chua won 2-1.

Round 8 on the VGC stream Featured Alberto Lara (again) vs. Alex Gomez. Their teams are:

Alberto Lara: Gengar, Kartana, Tapu Fini, Cresselia, Landorus (Therian forme), and Incineroar.

Alex Gomez: Mimikyu, Snolax, Salamence, Heatran, Tapu Koko, and Ludicolo.

Alex Gomez won 2-0.

Round 9, the final round for day 1 on the VGC Stream featured Nick Navarre vs. Len Deuel. Their teams were:

Nick Navarre: Gengar, Incineroar, Kartana, Clefairy, Latios, and Tapu Fini.

Len Deuel: Gyarados, Amoongus, Cresselia, Excadrill, Tyranitar, and Salamence.

Len Deuel won 2-0. Of note, Nick Navarre lost game 2 by running out of time.

Go to Page 2 for day 2.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.