The 2018 Pokemon World VGC Championship

Day 3:

On day three the finals for all age divisions were shown. Here they are, starting with the Junior’s division:

The Junior’s final was between Wonn Lee and Sota Tamemasa. These are their teams:

Wonn Lee: Terrakion, Whimsicott, Mega Gengar, Tapu Bulu, Kommo-o, and Snorlax

Sota Tamemasa: Oranguru, Snorlax, Dusclops, Mega Mawile, Pelipper, and Mimikyu.

Wonn Lee won 2-1.

The Senior division final was between James Evans, and Bram De Jonge, Here are their teams:

James Evans: Incineroar, Mega Gardevoir, Tapu Koko, Landorus (Therian Forme), Porygon 2, and Araquanid.

Bram De Jonge: Bisharp, Mega Blaziken, Tapu Bulu, Amoongus, Mimikyu, and Snorlax.

James Evans won 2-0.

The Master’s division finals were between Emilio Forbes and Paul Ruiz. Here are their teams:

Emilio Forbes: Tapu Bulu, Incineroar, Mega Gengar, Latias, Landorus (Therian Forme), and Politoed

Paul Ruiz: Tapu Koko, Mega Salamence, Snorlax, Incineroar, Gastrodon, and Kartana.

Paul Ruiz won 2-0, and was the first Ecuadorian and Latin American world champion.

Some quick takeaways from the event: Incineroar and Landorus (Therian Forme) were extraordinarily popular at this year’s event. Other Pokemon that were popular included Tapu Koko, Tapu Fini, Tapu Bulu, Tapu Lele, Snorlax, and Kartana. Hardly any team used only these picks, and there hardly seemed to be one particularly dominant Mega Pokemon throughout the event. There was even some flexibility in the supporting cast of Pokemon (such as Latias and Gastrodon) to fill out teams, so thankfully there was some creativity here.

One final note was that the 2019 rules were announced on day 2, and will take effect in game as early as September 4, 2018. The rules will be expanded to include up to 2 of the following legendary Pokemon on any team throughout the entire year: Mewtwo, Lugia, Ho-oh, Kyogre, Groudon, Rayquaza, Dialga, Palkia, Giratina, Reshiram, Zekrom, Kyurem, Xerneas, Yveltal, Zygarde, Cosmog, Cosmoem, Solgaleo, Lunala, and Necrozma. The 2019 season will also cycle between 3 rulesets throughout the year: The Sun season bans the use of mega stones, Z-crystals, and the red and blue orbs. Additionally, Rayquaza cannot know the move Dragon Ascent. Near the beginning of 2019, the rules will change to the Moon season rules: Z-crystals (except Ultranacrozmium-Z) will be allowed, but mega stones, the blue and red orbs, and Dragon Ascent will still be banned. After April the rules change to the Ultra season rules: All Z-crystals, mega stones, Dragon Ascent, and the blue and red orbs will be allowed. How exactly this will impact the game has yet to be seen.

And that was a recap of the 2018 Video Game Championship. Did you have a favorite match or moment? How did you feel about this past year’s rule set? What about the upcoming 2019 rule sets? Are you interested in participating in any tournaments this year or in a future year? Let me know all this in the comments below, and why!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.